Skip to content

Beef Jerky

2011-03-21

image

I wanted to try making some beef jerky, since I’m on LCHF (Low Carb, High Fat) and buying ready-made jerky is way too expensive. I looked around and found a post by Mungo.

I decided it seemed easy enough, and made a marinade of what I could find. Though I can’t remember the quantities exactly, I used something like the following:

  • ~ 3 dl soy sauce
  • ~ 1 dl rapeseed oil
  • ~ 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • ~ 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • ~ 0.5 dl white wine vinegar (didn’t have lemon, but needed acidity.)
  • ~ 1 tsp dried chili flakes
  • ~ 1 tsp muscovado sugar
  • ~ 3 grated cloves of garlic
  • ~ 1 tbsp onion powder
  • ~ 2 tbsp French mustard
  • ~ 2 dl water
  • ~ a few pinches of salt, pepper and ground-beef-spice
  • ~ a few drops of hot sauce

I then put half a kilogram of chuck steak in the microwave oven and set it to defrost with half the actual weight entered. This made the meat perfect for slicing thinly.

I put the meat in the marinade for about half an hour in the refrigerator.

Then I set the oven for 50 degrees Celsius and threaded the meat on wooden skewers, which I hung on the oven rack. I wedged a wooden spoon in the oven door to leave a 5 cm crack to let out moisture.

After 3 hours, the jerky came out perfect in consistency.

My wife and I both loved it!

Now it’s almost gone…

No comments yet

Leave a comment